There is something going on with your subscribers every day. we can call it subscriber journey. This journey is described by the activity Status. The Status determines

  • if you can send a campaign to this subscriber,
  • if the subscriber can be included in an audience List or a Segment,
  • if you can bulk change the Status.

The Status currently uses 5 values:

  1. Active
  2. Unconfirmed
  3. Bounced
  4. Unsubscribed
  5. Deleted

1. Active

The ideal Status! Simply because only subscribers with this status can receive your campaigns. They can be included in any distribution List or Segment as well. 

  • Send campaign? Yes
  • Included in Lists/Segments? Yes
  • Bulk change by import? Yes - to Unsubscribed

2. Unconfirmed

Unconfirmed subscribers can't receive any campaigns until they confirm their opt-in email.

  • Send campaign? No
  • Included in Lists/Segments? Yes
  • Bulk change by import? No

3. Bounced

Bounced status is set for subscribers you sent campaign in the past, but the campaign was not delivered either because their email address no longer exists or because of some other permanent 3rd party technical issue - the campaign was hard-bounced.

  • Send campaign? No
  • Included in Lists/Segments? No
  • Bulk change by import? No

4. Unsubscribed

These former subscribers of yours have decided they doesn't want receive your campaigns any more and have unsubscribed. Unsubscribed subscribers will be removed from the application after 30 days. Their statistics will be kept anonymized.

  • Send campaign? No
  • Included in Lists/Segments? No
  • Bulk change import? No

5. Deleted

This status is for subscribers you've already deleted from the system. You can delete multiple users regardless of their Status. Subscribers with Status Deleted keep their statistics.

  • Send campaign? No
  • Included in Lists/Segments? No 
  • Bulk change by import? Yes - to Active or Unconfirmed

Status changes

Automatic changes

Automatic changes are done by Clever AIM according to subscribers' actions. Status is changed automatically

  • from Unconfirmed to Active if subscriber confirms the Opt-in email,
  • from Active to Bounced if it is not possible to deliver campaign because of technical reasons (hard bounce),
  • from Active to Unsubscribed when subscriber ends the subscription.

Bulk changes

There are limited possibilities to bulk change the Status by the Import subscribers function. You can

  • send the Opt-in email again to change Status of Deleted subscribers to Unconfirmed.
  • You can unsubscribe your subscribers by importing them again, now with the attribute Unsubscribed. Active subscribers with value "Yes" in the Unsubscribed column will now have Unsubscribed status.
  • Bulk changes does not work with Unsubscribed subscribers.

Manual changes one by one

You can set up the Status of each particular subscriber in the Detail screen of this user. You can do this for one subscriber at a time.

Did this answer your question?